Australian Blue


The British Blue ensign, charged with five stars forming the southern cross and a sixth star with seven points denoting the six states and the seventh point representing all Australian territories, was the design chosen from entries in a competition held in 1901, which attracted 32,823 entries.

Originally, the five stars of the Southern Cross had 9, 8, 7, 6 and 5 points respectively to denote the brightness of the stars in the constellation, and the commonwealth star had only 6 points for the six states. But by 1903 the number of points on the stars were standardized to 4 seven pointed and 1 five pointed star, and in December 1908, it was gazetted that the commonwealth star be altered from 6 points to seven. The crosses of the Union Jack represent the principles on which Australia is based, parliamentary democracy, rule of law and freedom of speech.


Additional information


1.5yd, 1yd, 2.5yd, 2ft, 2yd, 3yd


Appliqued (Sewn), Digital Printed, Screenprinted